

## **Donor Health and Safety Committee**

CHAIR: Laurie Sutor

**PURPOSE:** The Donor Health and Safety Committee is established to address donor health and safety issues, policy considerations and to provide scientific expertise. The committee will encompass both US domestic and global concerns and policy setting across the scope of transfusion medicine and cellular therapies.

CHARGES: 1. Identify and address emerging donor health and safety concerns.

2. Identify overly burdensome FDA regulations which do not contribute to donor health and safety and propose alternatives supported by data.

3. Explore methods to increase donation safety for all donors with an emphasis on young donors. Develop recommendations for educational materials to inform teens and their parents about the risks of adverse reactions and mitigation strategies.

- 4. Pursue initiatives to improve the donation experience.
- 5. Champion / support Donor Hemovigilance activities on behalf of AABB.

## Current Personnel as of May 20, 2024

Name	Roles
Chair	
Laurie Sutor	
CHIEF_MEDICAL_OFFICER	
Dr. Claudia Cohn, MD, PHD	
Junior Committee Member	
Marlene Feliciano	
Danielle Domersant	
Liaison	
Pete Lux	DHTF Liaison
DR Samantha Ngamsuntikul	Donor Hemovig. WG Liaison
Member	
DR Samantha Ngamsuntikul	
Dr Suchitra Pandey	
Barry Siegfried	
Dr. Alexandra Jimenez	
Dr. Cyril Jacquot, MD, PHD	
Ms. Lauren A Crowder, MPH,PHD	
Kirsten Alcorn	
Representative	
Brittany Sigel	ABC/ADRP Rep.
Staff Liaison	
Karen Palmer	



**Time Commitment:** To learn about the time commitments for this committee, please contact the staff liaison listed in the roster above.