(0 items)
Small Medium Large | Print-Friendly Version of this Page  | Email this Page to a Friend
Skip Navigation Links
Who We Are
Governance and Policies
Structure and Governance
Board of Directors
Committees & Sections
Corporate Partnership
AABB > About AABB > Governance and Policies

AABB Governance and Policies 

AABB is organized, led and governed in a manner that permits rapid, thoughtful and effective policymaking. Consistent with its commitment to the highest standards of care for patients and donors, the association closely adheres to operating principles and practices that promote ethics and transparency. The Sarbanes-Oxley Act was adopted primarily to restore confidence in publicly traded entities, but AABB has joined other not-for-profit organizations in embracing sections of the act that help ensure accountability and compliance. AABB diligently works to identify and incorporate best practices that help mitigate risk and improve processes.

This section includes some of the guidelines and policies that have been developed to help ensure accountability and compliance, as well as members-only content relating to the organization's volunteer leadership, including board members profiles, descriptions of AABB committees, and association election information.

AABB Code of Ethics and AABB Bylaws (PDF)
AABB Firewall Policy (PDF)
AABB Patient and Donor Safety Center Firewall Policy (PDF)
AABB Policy on Conflicts of Interest and Confidentiality (PDF)
AABB Trademark Usage Guidelines (PDF)

2013 – 2014 AABB Board of Directors

Graham Sher, MD, PhD – Canadian Blood Services - President
Susan L. Stramer, PhD – American Red Cross – Past President
Lynne Uhl, MD – Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center – President-Elect
Donna M. Regan, MT(ASCP)SBB – SSM Cardinal Glennon Children's Hospital – Vice President
Zbigniew Szczepiorkowski, MD, PhD – Dartmouth-Hitchcock Hospital Center – Geisel School of Medicine at Dartmouth – Secretary
Nora V. Hirschler, MD – Blood Centers of the Pacific – Treasurer
Mary Beth Bassett, BS, MT(ASCP) – Blood Systems, Inc.
Donald Berglund, MHA, FACHE – Innovative Blood Resources
Jeannie Callum, MD, FRCPC, CTBS – Sunnybrook Health Sciences Center
Susan Johnson, MSTM, MT(ASCP)SBB – BloodCenter of Wisconsin Inc.
Mary J. Laughlin, MD – Cleveland Cord Blood Center
David F. McKenna Jr., MD – University of Minnesota
Michael Murphy, MD, FRCP, FRCPath – National Blood Service Blood and Transplant – Radcliffe Oxford University Hospital
E. Mary O'Neill, MD – American Red Cross Blood Services
Doug Padley, MT(ASCP) – Mayo Clinic
Beth Shaz, MD – New York Blood Center
Steven Sloan, MD, PhD – Boston Children’s Hospital
Jonathan Waters, MD – Magee-Womens Hospital
Dan Waxman, MD - Indiana Blood Center
Miriam A. Markowitz – CEO – AABB

Contact executive@aabb.org.

Home  |  Site Map  | AABB © 2014. All rights reserved. |  Privacy Statement  |  Terms of Use