

Accreditation Program Committee

CHAIR: Prabhakar Borge

PURPOSE: To oversee and administer the AABB Accreditation Program.

CHARGES: 1. Continue implementation of the Accreditation Program for the following member activities: blood centers, including collection, processing, testing, and distribution activities, transfusion services, perioperative services, immunohematology reference laboratories, cellular therapies, SBB schools, Relationship Testing laboratories, and Molecular Testing laboratories.

2. Prepare summary reports each year of all SPC activities using information provided by the Standards Committee chairs with recommendations for action by the Board of Directors.

3. Collaborate with the Education Advisory Accreditation Committee for identification of quality systems, education, and training needs.

4. Establish policies and procedures for the Accreditation Program. Apply the quality principles to the functioning of the Accreditation Program itself. Continually evaluate the function of the Accreditation Program through the Accreditation Committees.

5. Activate the Review Committee as needed to review recommendations for accreditation from the various accreditation committees. The review committee will be composed of the Accreditation Program Committee Chair and the Education Advisory Accreditation Committee Chair.

6. In cooperation with the SPC, periodically review the current strategies and proposed future directions of the Standards and Accreditation Programs to ensure coordinated processes.

7. Consider the development of tools that could be applied on an ongoing basis to assess the value of the various accreditation processes.

8. Coordinate with Standards committees and APC to ensure Standards are "assessable" through the accreditation process.

9. Establish cooperative relationships with other accrediting bodies.

10. Maintain Commendable Practice Library on AABB website/AABB Accreditation Staff.

Current Personnel as of May 05, 2024

Name	Roles
Chair	
Prabhakar Borge	
Liaison	
Mr. Patrick Ooley	SPC Liaison (Chair)
Member	
Dr. Patricia Brunker, MD,PHD	
Nina Sen, SBB(ASCP)	
Mr. Paul M Mansfield, MT(ASCP)SBB	
Susan Wilson, MLS(ASCP)SBB	
John Peterson	
Gagan Mathur	
Dr. Corinne Goldberg	



Name	Roles
Representative	
Dr Katharine Downes	CAP Rep.
Johnny Mack	CBS Rep.
Thaddeus Nnabue	FDA (OBRR) Rep.
Mrs Robin Whitacre	DHA/ASBP Rep.
Staff Liaison	
Melanie Sloan, MS, MT(ASCP)SBB, CQA(ASQ)	

Time Commitment:

To learn about the time commitments for this committee, please contact the staff liaison listed in the roster above.