

## Blood Banks and Transfusion Services Standards Committee

CHAIR: Dr Susan Galel

PURPOSE: To develop and update standards for blood banks and transfusion services.

CHARGES: 1. Obtain input and review existing requirements of Standards for Blood Banks and Transfusion Services according to the revision schedule.

2. In coordination with staff, develop guidance for publication in Standards Source and create records of rationales for changes existing requirements.

3. Update the Standards to reflect recommendations of the Uniform Donor History Questionnaire Task Force.

4. Review and respond to requests for variances to or deviations from Standards. Forward appeals to the SPC chair for assignment to the Review Committee. Include background information and recommendations as appropriate to assist the committee in its deliberations.

5. Develop interim/emergent standards as needed for submission to the Board of Directors.

6. Identify quality issues and concerns and forward to staff and the Standards Program Committee.

7. Monitor the development of new technologies with potential application to cellular therapies and develop or modify standards when appropriate.

8. Coordinate with the Blood Center and Transfusion Services Accreditation Committees for revision of the Assessment Tools when changes occur in BB/TS Standards.

9. Respond as requested to questions from the membership in the committee's area of expertise.

## Current Personnel as of May 05, 2024

Name	Roles
Chair	
Dr Susan Galel	
Junior Committee Member	
Obianuju Anelo	
Liaison	
Dr Suchitra Pandey	DHSC Liaison
Deanna Fang	TTD Liaison
Dr Mandy O'Leary	IS Committee Liaison
Nina Sen, SBB(ASCP)	BB/TS AC Liaison
Kyle Annen, CABP ,DO	DHTF Liaison
Member	
Karafa Badjie	
Dr. James D. Burner MD	
Dr Jessica Jacobson	
Tuan Le, MD	
Todd Straus	



Name	Roles
Dr. Stephanie Kinney, MD	
Morvarid Moayeri	
Dr. Alexandra Jimenez	
Diana Ramirez-Gomez	
Maria Aguad	
Emily Coberly	
Representative	
Dr Katharine Downes	CAP Rep.
Jaime Perry	FDA (OBRR) Rep.
Ms Mary Hasan	CMS Rep.
MS Susan Noone	BCC Rep.
Sharon O'Callaghan	FDA (OCBQ) Rep.
Yanyun Wu, MD,PHD	ASFA Rep.
Karen Moniz	ICCBBA Rep.
Nahla Wu	PPTA Rep.
Matthew Yan	CBS Rep.
Emmett Gourdine	VA Pathology and Laboratory Medicine Service Rep.
Louise Sun	AHA Rep.
Catherine L McGraw, BSN,RN	FDA (OBRR) Rep.
Michelle Parker	DHA/ASBP Rep.
Staff Liaison	
Mr Christopher Bocquet	

**Time Commitment:** 

To learn about the time commitments for this committee, please contact the staff liaison listed in the roster above.