Skip Navigation LinksHome > Membership > Governance and Policies > Committees & Sections > Cellular Therapies Section Coordinating Committee (2017-2018)

Cellular Therapies Section Coordinating Committee (2017-2018)

David Stroncek, MD (Chair)
Chief, Cell Processing Section
Department of Transfusion Medicine
Clinical Center, NIH
Bethesda, MD, USA
dstroncek@cc.nih.gov

Deborah Sesok-Pizzini, MD, MBA (Vice Chair)
Chief, Division of Transfusion Medicine
Department Patient Safety Officer, CHOP Pathology and Laboratory Medicine
Children's Hospital of Philadelphia, CHOP Divisional Leader Blood Bank, cGMP Stem Cell Lab and Apheresis Unit
Associate Professor of Clinical Pathology and Laboratory Medicine
Perelman School of Medicine at the University of Pennsylvania
Philadelphia, PA, USA
pizzini@email.chop.edu

Richard Schaefer, MD (Secretary)
Assistant Medical Director
Head Department Cell Therapeutics & Cell Processing, Head QC
Institute for Transfusion Medicine and Immunohaematology
German Red Cross Donor Service
Johan-Wolfgang-Goethe-University Hospital
Frankfurt/Main, Germany
Richard.schaefer.md@gmail.com

Salem M. Akel, PhD
Scientific & Laboratory Director
St. Louis Blood Bank & Cellular Therapy Laboratory at
SSM Cardinal Glennon Children’s Medical Center
St. Louis, MO, USA
sakel@slcbb.org

Ed Brindle, MSc, MLT(CMLTO)
Director Quality & Regulatory Affairs
Insception Lifebank
Ontario, Canada
EdBrindle@insception.com

Suzanne Dworsky, MBA, MT(ASCP)
Administrative Director
Stem Cell Transplantation and Cellular Therapy Clinical Labs
UTMD Anderson Cancer Center
Houston, TX, USA
sdworsky@mdanderson.org

Magali Fontaine, MD, PhD
Professor, Department of Pathology
University of Maryland School of Medicine
Baltimore, MD, USA
magalifontaine7@gmail.com

Mike Halpenny, MLT(CMLTO)
Manager, Manufacturing, Cord Blood and Stem Cell Manufacturing
Canadian Blood Services
Canada
mike.halpenny@blood.ca

Yen-Michael S. Hsu, MD, PhD
Assistant Professor of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine
Assistant Director of Transfusion Medicine and Cellular Therapy
Weill Cornell Medicine, New York Presbyterian Hospital
YSH9001@med.cornell.edu

Brian Jones, SBB
Cellular Therapy Manager
Blood Systems Laboratories
Tempe, AZ, USA
bjones2@bloodsystems.org

Celina Montemayor-Garcia, MD, PhD
Clinical Staff
Department of Transfusion Medicine
National Institutes of Health
Bethesda, MD, USA
celinamontemayor@gmail.com

Jay S. Raval, MD
Assistant Professor of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine
Medical Director of Therapeutic Apheresis
The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Chapel Hill, NC, USA
jay_raval@med.unc.edu

Ronit Slotky, PhD, MSc
Supervisor, Cellular Therapy Laboratory, Transfusion Medicine & Cellular Therapy
New York Presbyterian Hospital- WCMC
New York, NY, USA
ros9085@nyp.org

Thomas Spitzer, MD
Director, Bone Marrow Transplant Program
Massachusetts General Hospital
Professor of Medicine Harvard Medical School
Boston, MA USA
tspitzer@partners.org

Ljiljana V. Vasovic, MD
Assistant Professor of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine
Weill Cornell Medical College Associate Director of Cellular Therapy
Assistant Director of Transfusion Medicine
New York Presbyterian Hospital
NY, USA
ljv9004@med.cornell.edu

Missy Vogelpohl, MT(ASCP), MBA
ViaCord
Quality and Clinical Services
Hebron, Kentucky, USA
Missy.Vogelpohl@PERKINELMER.COM

Doug Padley, MT (ASCP) (ex officio)
Research and Development Coordinator
Human Cellular Therapy Laboratory
Mayo Clinic, Rochester MN
Padley.douglas@mayo.edu