Skip Navigation LinksHome > Membership > Governance and Policies > Committees & Sections > Cellular Therapies Section Coordinating Committee (2018-2019)

Cellular Therapies Section Coordinating Committee (2018-2019)

Deborah Sesok-Pizzini, MD, MBA (Chair)
Vice-Chief, Department of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine
Chief, Division of Transfusion Medicine Department
Patient Safety Officer The Children's Hospital of Philadelphia
Professor of Clinical Pathology and Laboratory Medicine Perelman School of Medicine University of Pennsylvania
Philadelphia, PA, USA
pizzini@email.chop.edu

Magali Fontaine, MD, PhD (Vice Chair)
Professor, Department of Pathology
Director of Transfusion Services and Cellular Processing Laboratory
University of Maryland School of Medicine
Baltimore, MD, USA
mfontaine@som.umaryland.edu

Richard Schaefer, MD (Secretary)
Assistant Professor, Asst. Medical Director
Head Department Cell Therapeutics & Cell Processing, Head QC
Institute for Transfusion Medicine and Immunohaematology
German Red Cross Donor Service, Baden-Wurttemburg-Hessen gGmbH
Johan-Wolfgang-Goethe-University Hospital
Frankfurt/Main, Germany
Richard.schaefer.md@gmail.com
r.schaefer@blutspende.de

Jennifer Chain, PhD
Science Officer for Cellular Therapies
Oklahoma Blood Institute
Oklahoma City, OK, USA
jennifer.chain@obi.org

Suzanne Dworsky, MBA, MT(ASCP)
Stem Cell Transplantation and Cellular Therapy Medicine Department Administrator
Stem Cell Transplantation and Cellular Therapy Medicine Department
UTMD Anderson Cancer Center
Houston, TX, USA
sdworsky@mdanderson.org

Mike Halpenny, MLT(CMLTO)
Manager, Manufacturing, Cord Blood and Stem Cell Manufacturing
Canadian Blood Services
Canada
mike.halpenny@blood.ca

Yen-Michael S. Hsu, MD, PhD
Assistant Professor of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine
Director of Laboratory for Advanced Cellular Engineering
Assistant Director of Transfusion Medicine and Cellular Therapy
Weill Cornell Medicine, New York Presbyterian Hospital
New York, NY USA
YSH9001@med.cornell.edu

Brian C. Jones, SBB
Clinical Services Quality Manager - Cell Therapies
Vitalant
Tempe, AZ, USA
bjones2@vitalant.org

Celina Montemayor-Garcia, MD, PhD
Clinical Staff
Department of Transfusion Medicine
Clinical Center
National Institutes of Health
Bethesda, MD, USA
celinamontemayor@gmail.com

Federico Rodriguez Quezada, SBB, MLSi(ASCP)CM
Interim BMT Operations Manager
UF Health Shands Cancer Hospital
Gainesville, FL, USA
frod0001@shands.ufl.edu

Jay S. Raval, MD
Director, Division of Transfusion Medicine
Associate Professor, Department of Pathology
University of New Mexico
Albuquerque, NM, USA
jay.raval@gmail.com

Ronit Slotky, PhD, MSc
Director, Cell Therapies Manufacturing
Hackensack University Medical Center
ronit.slotky@hackensackmeridian.org

Thomas Spitzer, MD
Director, Cellular Therapy and Transplantation Laboratory
Massachusetts General Hospital
Professor of Medicine
Harvard Medical School
Boston, MA
tspitzer@mgh.harvard.edu

Ljiljana V. Vasovic, MD
Assistant Professor of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine
Weill Cornell Medicine
Pathology and Laboratory Medicine
Associate Director of Cellular Therapy
Assistant Director of Transfusion Medicine
New York Presbyterian Hospital-Weill Cornell Campus
New York, NY, USA
ljv9004@med.cornell.edu

Missy Vogelpohl, MT(ASCP), MBA
Principal Clinical Affairs Specialist
ViaCord
Quality and Clinical Services
Hebron, KY, USA
Missy.Vogelpohl@PERKINELMER.COM

Matthew Wilgo, B.S.
Cell Biology Scientist
New England Cord Blood Bank
Marlborough, MA, USA
MWilgo@necryogenic.com