Skip Navigation LinksHome > Press

For Immediate Release
November 10, 2014
AABB Public Relations Department
Lynne Uhl, MD, Installed as 2014-15 President of AABB at Annual Meeting in Philadelphia

Bethesda, Md. – Lynne Uhl, MD, chief of the Division of Laboratory and Transfusion Medicine, Department of Pathology at Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center, was installed as president of AABB (formerly the American Association of Blood Banks) for the 2014-2015 term, succeeding Graham Sher, MD, PhD. Uhl assumed her new role at the 2014 AABB Annual Meeting in Philadelphia on Oct. 28.

An active member of AABB since 1992, Uhl has served as chair of the Human Resources Committee and board liaison to the American Rare Donor Program. She is a member of the editorial board of “Transfusion” and has contributed to a number of AABB Press books and publications, including “Guidelines for Informed Consent for Transfusion Medicine.” Uhl also has served as the subsection leader for the Clinical Hemotherapy Section of the Scientific Section Coordinating Committee and as a member of the Transfusion Practices Program Committee, the Nominating Committee and the Clinical Transfusion Medicine Committee.

Since 2007, she has been the division chief of Laboratory and Transfusion Medicine at the Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center in Boston, where she helped establish the hematopoietic stem cell facility that currently supports the institution’s active transplant program. Under her leadership, the laboratory has participated in several clinical trials investigating the safety and efficacy of vaccines involving fusion of dendritic and tumor cells for treating breast cancer, melanoma, renal cell carcinoma and multiple myeloma. 

Uhl received her medical degree from the University of Cincinnati Medical School and completed residency training in pathology at Beth Israel Hospital and Harvard Medical School. She is board-certified in anatomic and clinical pathology and has subspecialty certification in blood banking and transfusion. 

AABB also elected Donna M. Regan, MT(ASCP)SBB, as president-elect, Zbigniew M. Szczepiorkowski, MD, PhD, FCAP, as vice president and Michael F. Murphy, MD, FRCP, FRCPath, as secretary of the AABB Board of Directors.

To view the complete list of the AABB Board of Directors, please visit:

About AABB 

AABB is an international, not-for-profit association representing individuals and institutions involved in transfusion medicine, cellular therapies and patient blood management. The association is committed to improving health by developing and delivering standards, accreditation and educational programs that focus on optimizing patient and donor care and safety. AABB membership consists of nearly 2,000 institutions and 8,000 individuals, including physicians, nurses, scientists, researchers, administrators, medical technologists and other health care providers. Members are located in more than 80 countries. For more information, visit

# # #