Skip Navigation LinksHome > Press

For Immediate Release
November 11, 2015
Public Relations Department
+1. 301.215.6526
AABB Announces 2015 Award and Scholarship Recipients
Individuals are honored for their dedication to advancing scientific innovations in the transfusion medicine, cellular therapies and patient blood management community

Bethesda, Md. – AABB is pleased to announce the recipients of its prestigious 2015 annual memorial awards and scholarships. Twenty-eight individuals will be recognized for their significant contributions to the advancement of transfusion medicine and cellular therapies during the AABB Annual Meeting, Oct. 24-27, in Anaheim, California.

"The awards and scholarships honor individuals for their outstanding contributions in the field of transfusion medicine, cellular therapies and patient blood management," said AABB President Lynne Uhl, MD, "It is important to recognize these leaders, who are passionate about scientific innovation and improving patient and donor care and safety."

The recipients of the 2015 AABB awards and scholarships are:


  • Dale A. Smith Memorial Award – Dennis Hlavinka, BS, ME, Senior Development Engineer, Terumo BCT, Inc. Lakewood, Colo.
  • Jack Latham Memorial Award for Innovative Research – Jianhua Yu, PhD, Assistant Professor, Division of Hematology, The Ohio State University Wexner Medical Center, Columbus, Ohio
  • Emily Cooley Memorial Award and Lectureship – Thomas A. Lane, MD, professor, Department of Pathology, University of California, San Diego, School of Medicine, La Jolla, Calif.
  • Hemphill-Jordan Leadership Award – Harvey G. Klein, MD, chief, Department of Transfusion Medicine, Clinical Center, National Institutes of Health, Bethesda, Md.
  • John Elliott Memorial Award – Paul Mintz, MD, director, Division of Hematology Clinical Review, CBER, FDA, Charlottesville, Va.
  • Karl Landsteiner Memorial Award and Lectureship – Nancy G. Andrews, MD, PhD, dean/Nanaline H. Duke professor of pediatrics, Duke University School of Medicine, Durham, N.C.
  • Sally Frank Memorial Award and Lectureship – Christine Lomas-Francis, MSC, FIBMS, technical director, Immunohematology Reference Lab and Genomics, New York Blood Center, New York, N.Y.
  • Tibor Greenwalt Memorial Award and Lectureship – Alan H. Lazarus, PhD, scientist, Canadian Blood Services, Toronto, Ontario, Canada


  • David Perez, President and CEO, Terumo BCT, Lakewood Colo.

National Blood Foundation Hall of Fame

  • Christopher C. Silliman, MD, PhD
  • Christopher D. Hillyer, MD
  • Connie M. Westhoff, SBB, PhD
  • Edward Snyder, MD, FACP
  • James C. Zimring, MD, PhD
  • James P. AuBuchon, MD, FCAP, FRCP(Edin)
  • Jill R. Storry, PhD
  • Joann Moulds, PhD, MT (ASCP)SBB
  • John D. Roback, MD, PhD
  • Larry J. Dumont, MBA, PhD
  • Marion Elizabeth Reid, FIMBS, PhD, DSc(Hon.)
  • Michael P. Busch, MD, PhD
  • Paul D. Mintz, MD
  • Sandra J. Nance, MS, MT (ASCP) SBB
  • Sunny Dzik, MD


Specialist in Blood Banking Scholarship Award

  • Erin M. Vinesett, MLS(ASCP)SBB
  • Nichole M. Miller, SBB (ASCP)CM

Transfusion Medicine Fellowship Award

  • Emily Coberly, MD
  • Lohith Shakaladevanapura, MD

Nominations for 2016

AABB will be accepting nominations for AABB Memorial Awards in the coming weeks. All submissions are due by Friday, Jan. 29, 2016. For more information, visit: > About AABB > AABB Awards.

About AABB

AABB is an international, not-for-profit association representing individuals and institutions involved in transfusion medicine, cellular therapies and patient blood management. The association is committed to improving health by developing and delivering standards, accreditation and educational programs that focus on optimizing patient and donor care and safety. AABB membership consists of nearly 2,000 institutions and 8,000 individuals, including physicians, nurses, scientists, researchers, administrators, medical technologists and other health care providers. Members are located in more than 80 countries. For more information, visit

# # #