Skip Navigation LinksHome > Press

For Immediate Release
October 19, 2016
AABB Communications Department
Tyniah Christian
AABB Reveals 2016 National Blood Foundation Hall of Fame Recipients

Bethesda, Md. – AABB is pleased to announce the 2016 National Blood Foundation (NBF) Hall of Fame inductees, Jeanne E. Hendrickson, MD; Steven L. Spitalnik, MD, and; Karina Yazdanbakhsh, PhD.

This prestigious honor recognizes former grant recipients for leveraging early-career grant funding received from the Foundation into successful careers in transfusion medicine, cellular therapies, or patient blood management, and for demonstrating exemplary leadership within the field. This year’s recipients will be inducted into the NBF Hall of Fame at the AABB Annual Meeting, Oct. 22-25, in Orlando, Fla.

Additional information on the 2016 NBF Hall of Fame inductees is listed below and can be found on the NBF website along with all of the Hall of Fame members.

Jeanne E. Hendrickson, MD – Associate Professor of Laboratory Medicine and Pediatrics, Associate Medical Director of the Transfusion Medicine Service, Yale University, New Haven, CT
NBF Grant Year: 2006
NBF Research Project Title: “Effect of Host Inflammation on Alloimmunization to RBC Transfusion.”

Steven L. Spitalnik, MD – Vice-Chair of Laboratory Medicine and Professor, Department of Pathology & Cell Biology, Columbia University, New York, NY
NBF Grant Year: 2003
NBF Research Project Title: “Hemolytic Transfusion Reactions: A Transgenic Mouse Model.”

Karina Yazdanbakhsh, PhD – Executive Director of Research, Lindsley F. Kimball Research Institute (LFKRI), New York Blood Center, New York, NY
NBF Grant Year: 2000
NBF Research Project Title: “Recombinant Antigens as Tools for Identification of Alloantibodies in Patients’ Sera.”

About The National Blood Foundation

AABB’s National Blood Foundation (NBF), established in 1983, fuels innovation in transfusion medicine and cellular therapies for the benefit of patients and donors through grant making, educational offerings and industry leadership engagement and recognition. NBF encourages innovation through early-career scientific research grants and strategic research and education grants. Both grant programs supplement AABB’s mission to further develop transfusion medicine, cellular therapies and regenerative medicine science.

About AABB

AABB is an international, not-for-profit association representing individuals and institutions involved in the fields of transfusion medicine and cellular therapies. The association is committed to improving health through the development and delivery of standards, accreditation and educational programs that focus on optimizing patient and donor care and safety. AABB membership includes physicians, nurses, scientists, researchers, administrators, medical technologists and other health care providers. AABB members are located in more than 80 countries and AABB accredits institutions in over 50 countries. For more information, visit

# # #