Skip Navigation LinksHome > Press

For Immediate Release
October 22, 2016
AABB Communications Department
Magda Yang
AABB Announces 2016 Memorial Award and Scholarship Recipients
Individuals are recognized for their outstanding contributions in transfusion medicine, cellular therapies and patient blood management

Bethesda, Md. – AABB today released the names of the recipients of its 2016 annual memorial awards and scholarships. Thirty individuals will be honored for their significant contributions to the advancement of transfusion medicine (TM), cellular therapies (CT) and patient blood management (PBM) during the AABB Annual Meeting, scheduled for Oct. 22-25 in Orlando, Fla.

“The AABB awards honor recipients for their dedication to fostering innovation in transfusion medicine, cellular therapies and patient blood management,” said AABB President Donna Regan, MT(ASCP)SBB. “Each award recognizes excellence in different categories from groundbreaking work performed in the application of technology to the practice of TM, CT and PBM, to teaching ability, leadership, and important contributions to scientific knowledge.”

The full list of recipients of the 2016 AABB memorial award and scholarships is below.

Memorial Awards

  • Dale A. Smith Memorial Award – Pablo Rubinstein, MD, VP, Director, National Cord Blood Program, New York Blood Center, New York, NY
  • 2016 National Blood Foundation Award for Innovative Research – Anand Padmanabhan, MD, PhD, Medical Director, BloodCenter of Wisconsin, Milwaukee, WI
  • Emily Cooley Memorial Award and Lectureship – Nancy Heddle, MSc., FCSMLS(D), Professor, Department of Medicine, McMaster University, Ontario, Canada
  • Hemphill-Jordan Leadership Award – Fran Rabe, MS, ASQ CQM, Director of Quality Assurance, University of Minnesota, St. Paul, MN
  • Karl Landsteiner Memorial Award and Lectureship – Stuart Orkin, MD, David G. Nathan Professor of Pediatrics/Chairman, Harvard Medical School/Dana-Farber Cancer Institute, Boston, MA
  • Sally Frank Memorial Award and Lectureship – Barbara Bryant, MD, MT(ASCP)SBB, Professor and Vice Chair, Department of Pathology, Medical Director, Transfusion Medicine, University of Texas Medical Branch, Galveston, TX
  • Tibor Greenwalt Memorial Award and Lectureship – Parviz Lalezari, MD, Director of Neurosurgery Research, Montefiore Medical Center, Bronx, NY

AABB President’s Award

  • Dr. Samuel V. Magagula, Director of Health Services, on behalf of the Swaziland National Blood Transfusion Services and the Kingdom of Swaziland

National Blood Foundation Hall of Fame – 2016 Inductees

  • Jeanne E. Hendrickson, MD, Associate Professor of Laboratory Medicine and Pediatrics, Associate Medical Director of the Transfusion Medicine Service, Yale University, New Haven, CT
  • Steven L. Spitalnik, MD, Vice-Chair of Laboratory Medicine and Professor, Department of Pathology & Cell Biology, Columbia University, New York, NY
  • Karina Yazdanbakhsh, PhD, Head of Laboratory and Member, Lindsley F. Kimball Research Institute (LFKRI), New York Blood Center, New York, NY

National Blood Foundation Early-Career Grants

  • Angelo D’Alessandro, PhD, University of Colorado Denver, Anschutz Medical Campus
  • David Gibb, MD, PhD, Yale University School of Medicine, Department of Laboratory Medicine
  • Mobin Karimi, MD, PhD, University of Pennsylvania
  • Troy Lund, MD, PhD, University of Minnesota
  • Sandhya Panch, MBBS, MPH, Cell Processing Section, Dept. of Transfusion Medicine, NIH

AABB-Fenwal Scholarship Awards

Specialist in Blood Banking Scholarship Award

  • Erika M. Reese, MLS(ASCP)SBB
  • Althea Rossier, MLS(ASCP)SBBCM

Transfusion Medicine Fellowship Award

  • Jane James MD, PhD
  • Ruchika Goel, MD, MPH

RISE Award

  • Article: “Prophylactic anti-d preparations display variable decreases in fc-fucosylation of anti-d,” published in the 2015 volume year of TRANSFUSION.

Authors of the 2016 RISE Award-winning article:

  • Agnes Hipgrave Ederveen, MD
  • Belinda M. Kumpel, MD
  • Ellen van der Schoot, MD, PhD
  • Gestur Vidarsson, PhD
  • Luciana Della Valle, MS, PhD (pend)
  • Prof. dr. Manfred Wuhrer
  • Masja de Haas, MD, PhD
  • Onno J H M Verhagen, MD
  • Peter Ligthart, MD
  • Rick Kapur, MD

About AABB

AABB is an international, not-for-profit association representing individuals and institutions involved in the fields of transfusion medicine and cellular therapies. The association is committed to improving health through the development and delivery of standards, accreditation and educational programs that focus on optimizing patient and donor care and safety. AABB membership includes physicians, nurses, scientists, researchers, administrators, medical technologists and other health care providers. AABB members are located in more than 80 countries and AABB accredits institutions in over 50 countries.

# # #