Skip Navigation LinksHome > Press

For Immediate Release
October 26, 2016
AABB Communications Department
Magda Yang
Zbigniew M. Szczepiorkowski Installed as New AABB President

Bethesda, Md. – Zbigniew (Ziggy) M. Szczepiorkowski, MD, PhD, FCAP, was installed as president of AABB for the 2016-17 term at the association’s 2016 Annual Meeting in Orlando, Fla, succeeding Donna M. Regan, MT(ASCP)SBB.

Dr. Szczepiorkowski is an associate professor of pathology and of medicine at Geisel School of Medicine at Dartmouth College. He is a practicing physician affiliated with the Dartmouth-Hitchcock Medical Center in Lebanon, N.H., where he is section chief of clinical pathology, medical director of the Transfusion Medicine Service, medical director of the Center for Transfusion Medicine Research, and director of the Cellular Therapy Center. He also is an investigator at Norris Cotton Cancer Center and a consultant in pathology services at Massachusetts General Hospital in Boston.

Throughout his career, Szczepiorkowski has held many leadership positions with health care organizations and professional societies. Among other roles, he is past president of the American Society for Apheresis, a co-leader of the Cellular Therapy Team of the Biomedical Excellence for Safer Transfusion Collaborative and a member of the board of directors of the National Marrow Donor Program. He also has served on multiple National Institutes of Health review panels as well as various committees of AABB, American Society for Apheresis, the College of American Pathologists, International Society of Blood Transfusion, Foundation for the Accreditation of Cellular Therapy, and other organizations.

He has more than 80 peer-reviewed publications in the fields of laboratory medicine, cellular therapy, apheresis and transfusion medicine. His current research includes studies of adaptive immunotherapy in cancer, the clinical use of apheresis and cellular therapy products.

Szczepiorkowski graduated from the Medical University of Warsaw, Poland, then completed a postdoctoral fellowship at Massachusetts General Hospital/Harvard Medical School. He obtained his doctorate in medicine at the Medical Center for Postgraduate Education in Warsaw. He was a resident and chief resident in clinical pathology at Massachusetts General Hospital, where he also served as a transfusion medicine fellow.

AABB members also elected Mary Beth Bassett, BS, MT(ASCP), as the 2017-18 Association president-elect; Michael F. Murphy, MD, FRCP, FRCPath, FFPath, as vice president; and Susan Roseff, MD, as secretary of the AABB Board of Directors.

To view the complete list of the AABB Board of Directors visit:

About AABB

AABB is an international, not-for-profit association representing individuals and institutions involved in the fields of transfusion medicine and cellular therapies. The association is committed to improving health through the development and delivery of standards, accreditation and educational programs that focus on optimizing patient and donor care and safety. AABB membership includes physicians, nurses, scientists, researchers, administrators, medical technologists and other health care providers. AABB members are located in more than 80 countries and AABB accredits institutions in over 50 countries.

# # #