Skip Navigation LinksHome > Press

For Immediate Release
August 30, 2017
AABB Communications Department
Magda Yang
Office: +1.301.215.6569
AABB Announces 2017 Memorial Award Recipients
Prestigious Bernard Fantus Lifetime Achievement Award To Be Presented For First Time Since 2010

Bethesda, Md. – AABB announced the names of the recipients of its 2017 Annual Memorial Awards and Scholarships. Award recipients will be honored for their significant contributions to the advancement of transfusion medicine, cellular therapies and patient blood management  during the AABB Annual Meeting, to be held Oct. 7-10 in San Diego, CA.

“This year’s AABB Memorial Awards represent a wide spectrum of activities in which AABB members are engaged. Each awardee has made influential and important contributions to the fields of transfusion medicine, cellular therapies or patient blood management,” said AABB President Zbigniew M. Szczepiorkowski, MD, PhD, FCAP. “Being a recipient of AABB Memorial Awards is just one way we can all recognize their impressive careers and notable accomplishments.”

For the first time since 2010, AABB is awarding the Bernard Fantus Lifetime Achievement Award, which recognizes an individual who has made numerous, outstanding contributions to the scientific basis and/or clinical practice of blood banking and transfusion medicine during the preceding 50 years. The Fantus Award is being presented to Harvey G. Klein, MD, Chief, Department of Transfusion Medicince, Clinical Center, National Institutes of Health, for his lifelong devotion to, and leadership of, the field of blood banking as it matured into the discipline of transfusion medicine.

The list of 2017 AABB award and scholarship recipients is below. More information about the work of this year’s award recipients is available here.

Memorial Award Recipients:

  • Bernard Fantus Lifetime Achievement AwardHarvey G. Klein, MD, Chief, Department of Transfusion Medicince, Clinical Center, National Institutes of Health, Bethesda, MD
  • Dale A. Smith Memorial AwardConnie M. Westhoff, SBB, PhD, Executive Scientific Director of Immunohematology and Genomics, New York Blood Center, New York, NY
  • Emily Cooley Memorial Award and Lectureship –  Dennis Goldfinger, MD, Clinical Professor (retired), UCLA Dept. of Pathology and Lab Medicine Division of Transfusion Medicine, Los Angeles, CA
  • Hemphill-Jordan Leadership AwardBrian Custer, MPH, PhD, Associate Director, Blood Systems Research Institute, San Francisco, CA
  • John Elliott Memorial Award - J. Daniel Connor, MBA, CPA, President and CEO (retired), Blood Systems Inc., Scottsdale, AZ
  • Karl Landsteiner Memorial Award and LectureshipIrving Weissman, MD, Director, Institute for Stem Cell Biology and Regenerative Medicine, Ludwig Center for Cancer Stem Cell Research at Stanford University, Stanford, CA
  • National Blood Foundation Award for Innovative ResearchStephanie Eisenbarth, MD, PhD, Associate Professor, Department of Laboratory Medicine, Immunobiology, Section of Allergy and Immunology, Yale University School of Medicine, New Haven, CT
  • Sally Frank Memorial Award and LectureshipGreg Denomme, PhD, FCSMLS(D), Director of Immunohematology and Transfusion Services, Senior Investigator, BloodCenter of Wisconsin, Milwaukee, WI
  • Tibor Greenwalt Memorial Award and LectureshipMartin L. Olsson, MD, PhD, Professor of Transfusion Medicine, Medical Director of the Nordic Blood Group Reference Laboratory, Lund University, Lund, Sweden

National Blood Foundation Hall of Fame – 2017 Inductees:

  • Jose Cancelas, MD, PhD, Professor of Pediatrics, University of Cincinnati College of Medicine, Deputy Director, Hoxworth Blood Center, Leader, Stem Cell group of the Cancer & Blood Diseases Institute of Cincinnati Children's Hospital Medical Center
  • Laura Cooling, MD, MS, Professor, Department of Pathology, University of Michigan, Associate Medical Director of Transfusion Medicine, Medical Director for the Cellular Therapy and Immunohematology Reference Laboratories
  • James D. Gorham, MD, PhD, Medical Director, Transfusion Medicine Services, Chief, Division of Laboratory Medicine, and Professor, Department of Pathology, University of Virginia

RISE Award:

  • Article: "ADAMTS13 autoantibodies cloned from patients with acquired thrombotic thrombocytopenic purpura: 2. Pathogenicity in an animal model" 

Authors of the 2017 RISE Award-winning article:

  • Khalil Bdeir, PhD; Douglas Cines, MD; Michelle Cushing, MES; Gayathri Gulendran; Vincent Hayes; Stephen Kacir; David Motto, MD, PhD; Eric Ostertag, MD, PhD; Mortimer Poncz, MD; Don Siegel, MD, PhD; Lenka Yunk, PhD; and X. Long Zheng, MD, PhD.

About AABB

AABB is an international, not-for-profit association representing individuals and institutions involved in the fields of transfusion medicine and cellular therapies. The association is committed to improving health through the development and delivery of standards, accreditation and educational programs that focus on optimizing patient and donor care and safety. AABB membership includes physicians, nurses, scientists, researchers, administrators, medical technologists and other health care providers. AABB members are located in more than 80 countries and AABB accredits institutions in more than 50 countries.

# # #