Skip Navigation LinksHome > Press

For Immediate Release
October 23, 2019
Magda Yang
Beth Shaz Begins Term as President of AABB

Bethesda, Md. – AABB (formerly known as the American Association of Blood Banks) has installed Beth Shaz, MD, as its president for the 2019-2020 term. Shaz was inaugurated during the 2019 AABB Annual Meeting, which ended yesterday in San Antonio, Texas. She succeeds Michael Murphy, MD, FRCP, FRCPath, FFPath.

“I am truly thankful to the membership for giving me an opportunity to serve as AABB board president and help ensure the future success of the Association,” said AABB’s new President Beth Shaz. “AABB provides a platform to bring all these wonderful individuals from different subspecialties, in different stages of their careers, with different expertise, and from all over the world together to improve the fields of transfusion medicine and cellular therapies.”

Shaz is the executive vice president and chief medical and scientific officer at the New York Blood Center (NYBC) in New York. She is responsible for all medical and scientific activities throughout the NYBC enterprises, including the Lindsey F. Kimball Research Institute, hemophilia service, transfusion services, cellular therapy, perioperative autologous transfusion, and clinical apheresis. Additionally, she is leading NYBC’s Comprehensive Cell Solutions, which is focused on facilitating the next generation of cures in transfusion medicine and cell therapy.

An AABB member since 2002, Shaz has been involved in numerous Association committees and sections, including the Transfusion Medicine Section Coordinating Committee, the Accreditation Program Committee and the Blood Banks and Transfusion Services Standards Program Unit. Additionally, she chaired the Interorganizational Biovigilance Network Recipient Working Group, the Transfusion Services Accreditation Program Unit and the Blood Banking/Transfusion Medicine Fellowship Program Directors Group.

Shaz is a scientific member of Biomedical Excellence for Safer Transfusion, an Associate Editor of TRANSFUSION and an editorial board member of BLOOD. She received her medical degree from University of Michigan Medical School and a Bachelor of Science degree in chemical engineering from Cornell University.

AABB members also elected David Green, MSA, as President-Elect; Dana Devine, PhD, as Vice President; and Steven Sloan, MD, PhD, as Secretary. Clifford Numark, JD, Jerry Holmberg, PhD, MT(ASCP)SBB, and Jose Cancelas, MD, PhD, were elected as at-large directors. In addition, Shaz has appointed Colleen Delaney, MD, to the Board.

About AABB
AABB is an international, not-for-profit association representing individuals and institutions involved in the fields of transfusion medicine and cellular therapies. The association is committed to improving health through the development and delivery of standards, accreditation and educational programs that focus on optimizing patient and donor care and safety. AABB membership includes physicians, nurses, scientists, researchers, administrators, medical technologists and other health care providers. AABB members are located in more than 80 countries and AABB accredits institutions in more than 50 countries.

# # #