(0 items)
Small Medium Large | Print-Friendly Version of this Page  | Email this Page to a Friend
Skip Navigation Links
Press Releases
Hot Topics
White Papers
Contact Public Relations
AABB > Press Room > Press Releases

For Immediate Release
October 1, 2008 
Jennifer Garfinkel

 AABB Announces 2008 Award and Scholarship Recipients 

Individuals and organizations are honored for their outstanding contributions
to the blood banking and transfusion medicine community

Bethesda, Md. – AABB (formerly known as the American Association of Blood Banks) is pleased to announce the recipients of its prestigious 2008 Annual Awards and Scholarships. More than 20 individuals and organizations will be recognized for their significant contributions to the advancement of transfusion medicine and cellular therapies during the AABB Annual Meeting and TXPO, Oct. 4-7, in Montréal. 


“These award recipients have made significant contributions within a multitude of disciplines in the transfusion medicine and cellular therapies community,” said AABB President J. Daniel Connor, MM.  “Their extraordinary leadership, knowledge and commitment have helped to ensure patient and donor safety as well as a readily available blood supply.”

The AABB Annual Meeting and TXPO will be held at the Palais des congrès de Montréal. For detailed information about each of this year’s award recipients, visit: www.aabb.org > Professional Development > Awards and Scholarships > AABB Awards.


The recipients of the 2008 AABB Awards and Scholarships include:




Chapman-Franzmeier Memorial Award and Lectureship – Joyce Kleist, director of donor recruitment, Carter BloodCare, Bedford, Texas


Dale A. Smith Memorial Award – Paul B. Kelly, MD, FACS, retired cardiovascular surgeon, Fair Oaks, Calif.; and Keith A. Samolyk, CCP, LCP, president and chief executive officer, Global Blood Resources LLC, Windsor, Conn.


David B. Pall Prize for Innovative Research in Transfusion Medicine – Jose A. Cancelas, MD, PhD, director, Research Division, Hoxworth Blood Center; associate professor, Department of Pediatrics, Children's Hospital Medical Center, University of Cincinnati, Cincinnati, Ohio.


Emily Cooley Memorial Award and Lectureship – Ronald G. Strauss, MD, professor of Pediatrics and Pathology, University of Iowa College of Medicine, Iowa City, Iowa.


Hemphill-Jordan Leadership Award – Daniel Somuah, MT, Transfusion Medicine Unit, Anglogold Ashanti Hospital, Anglogold Ashanti Company Ltd., Obuasi, Ghana.


Karl Landsteiner Memorial Award and LectureshipErnest Beutler, MD, professor and chairman, Department of Molecular and Experimental Medicine, Scripps Research Institute, La Jolla, Calif.


Sally Frank Memorial Award and Lectureship – Denise Harmening, PhD, MT(ASCP), director, Instruction and Customer Learning, American Red Cross, Heritage Division, Crofton, Md.


Tibor Greenwalt Memorial Award and Lectureship – Gary Moroff, PhD, head, Blood Components Department, Jerome H. Holland Laboratory for the Biomedical Sciences, American Red Cross Biomedical Services, Rockville, Md.


International Woman in Transfusion AwardCecile Kaplan-Gouet, MD, director, Platelet Immunology Department, National Institute of Blood Transfusion, Paris, France.  (This award is presented in partnership with the British Blood Transfusion Society and the International Society of Blood Transfusion.)


President’s AwardSen. Orrin Hatch (R-Utah), U.S. Senate, Salt Lake City, Utah; Rep. Christopher Smith (R-N.J.), U.S. House of Representatives, Hamilton, N.J.; and Rep. C.W. Bill Young (R-Fla.), U.S. House of Representatives, St. Petersburg, Fla.




Individual – Mark Smith, president, MIDAS of Richmond, Richmond, Va. 




Business Category – Nationwide, Des Moines, Iowa

Education Category – Falfurrias High School, Falfurrias, Texas

Group Category – The Knights of Columbus – Québec State Council, Saint-Hyacinthe, Québec, Canada

Individual Category – Ed Welch, volunteer; regional blood services board member, American Red Cross, Greensboro, N.C.

Radio Category – 95.5 KLOS-FM, Los Angeles, Calif.

Television Category – KSTU FOX 13, Salt Lake City, Utah



SBB Student Award

Denden Alcantara, MS, MT(ASCP)




Karen J. Buikema, MS, MT(ASCP)SBB

LeAnn Richardson, MT(ASCP)


Nominations for 2009

AABB is currently accepting nominations for AABB Memorial Awards, 2009 Outstanding Achievement Awards and 2009 Awards of Merit.  All submissions are due by Friday, Jan. 30, 2009.  For more information, visit: www.aabb.org > Professional Development > Awards and Scholarships > AABB Awards.


About AABB
Established in 1947, AABB (formerly known as the American Association of Blood Banks) is an international, not-for-profit association dedicated to the advancement of science and the practice of transfusion medicine and related biological therapies. The association is committed to improving health by developing and delivering standards, accreditation and educational programs and services to optimize patient and donor care and safety. AABB membership consists of approximately 1,800 institutions and 8,000 individuals, including physicians, scientists, administrators, medical technologists, nurses, researchers, blood donor recruiters and public relations personnel. Members are located in all 50 states and 80 countries.


Home  |  Site Map  | AABB © 2014. All rights reserved. |  Privacy Statement  |  Terms of Use