(0 items)
Small Medium Large | Print-Friendly Version of this Page  | Email this Page to a Friend
Skip Navigation Links
Press Releases
Hot Topics
White Papers
Contact Public Relations
AABB > Press Room > Press Releases

For Immediate Release
October 31, 2011 
AABB Public Relations Department

 AABB Announces 2011 Award and Scholarship Recipients 

Individuals and organizations are honored for their outstanding contributions to the field of transfusion medicine and cellular therapies

Bethesda, Md. – AABB (formerly the American Association of Blood Banks) is pleased to announce the recipients of its prestigious 2011 annual awards and scholarships. More than 20 individuals will be recognized for their significant contributions to the advancement of transfusion medicine and cellular therapies during the AABB Annual Meeting and CTTXPO, Oct. 22-25, in San Diego, Calif.

"These awards honor individuals within the transfusion medicine and cellular therapy community who have shown dedication and extraordinary leadership in a variety of areas," said AABB President James P. AuBuchon, MD, FCAP, FRCP(Edin). "Their commendable accomplishments have helped to improve patient and donor safety."

The AABB Annual Meeting and CTTXPO will be held at the San Diego Convention Center. For detailed information about each of this year's award recipients, visit: www.aabb.org > Professional Development > Awards and Scholarships > AABB Awards.

The recipients of the 2011 AABB awards and scholarships include:


Dale A. Smith Memorial Award – Jeffrey M. Linnen, PhD, director of product development, Gen-Probe Incorporated, San Diego, Calif.

David B. Pall Prize for Innovative Research in Transfusion Medicine – Cheryl Lobo, PhD, associate member and laboratory head, New York Blood Center, New York, N.Y.

Emily Cooley Memorial Award and Lectureship – Paul M. Ness, MD, director of transfusion medicine, Johns Hopkins Medical Institutions, Baltimore, Md.

Hemphill-Jordan Leadership Award – Mary Beth Bassett, BS, MT(ASCP), senior vice president of quality management and regulatory affairs, Bloods Systems, Inc., Scottsdale, Ariz.

John Elliott Memorial Award – Peter A. Tomasulo, MD, chief medical and scientific officer, Blood Systems, Inc., Scottsdale, Ariz.

Karl Landsteiner Memorial Award and Lectureship – Yuet Wai Kan, MBBS, DSc, Louis K. Diamond professor of hematology, University of California, San Francisco, Calif.; and David John Weatherall, MD, FRCP, FRS, Regius Professor of Medicine Emeritus, Weatherall Institute of Molecular Medicine, University of Oxford, Headington, Oxford, U.K.

Tibor Greenwalt Memorial Award and Lectureship – Harvey J. Alter, MD, MACP, Distinguished NIH Investigator, Chief Clinical Studies and associate director for research, Department of Transfusion Medicine, Clinical Center, National Institutes of Health, Bethesda, Md.


  • Sharlene Billiet, MT, SBB (ASCP)cm, transfusion service technical supervisor, Metropolitan Medical Laboratory, PLC, Davenport, Iowa
  • Jamie Blietz, MBA, CAE, director of National Blood Exchange, AABB, Bethesda, Md.
  • Katharine Appleton Downes, MD, medical director, Department of Pathology, University Hospitals Case Medical Center, Cleveland, Ohio
  • William P. FitzGerald, senior advisor, Biomedical Preparedness, American Red Cross, Washington, D.C.
  • Joy Fridey, MD, MBA, director of transfusion medicine, Children's Hospital Los Angeles, Los Angeles, Calif.
  • Jerome L. Gottschall, MD, senior medical director, BloodCenter of Wisconsin; professor, Department of Pathology, Medical College of Wisconsin, Milwaukee, Wis.
  • Paul M. Ness, MD, director of transfusion medicine, Johns Hopkins Medical Institutions, Baltimore, Md.
  • Kadi Schroeder, RN, BSN, MBA, director of ancillary services, Bonfils Blood Center, Denver, Colo.
  • Edward L. Snyder, MD, FACP, professor of laboratory medicine, Yale New Haven Hospital, New Haven, Conn.
  • Dian Swafford, MSM, MT(ASCP), blood bank manager, Phoebe Putney Memorial Hospital, Albany, Ga.
  • Ruth D. Sylvester, MS, MT(ASCP)SBB, director of regulatory services, America's Blood Services, Washington, D.C.
  • Peter A. Tomasulo, MD, chief medical and scientific officer, Blood Systems, Inc., Scottsdale, Ariz.
  • Mary J. Townsend, MD, chief medical officer, southern region, Blood Systems, Inc., Scottsdale, Ariz.
  • Wendy Trivisonno , director of products and operations, Blood Centers of America, West Warwick, R.I.


SBB Student Award

  • Karissa K. Benson, MLS(ASCP)SBB
  • Lay See Er, MSTM, SBB(ASCP)cm

TMF Student Award

  • Garrett S. Booth, MD
  • Marissa Li, MD

Nominations for 2012

AABB is currently accepting nominations for AABB Memorial Awards. All submissions are due by Friday, Jan. 27, 2012. For more information, visit: www.aabb.org > Professional Development > Awards and Scholarships > AABB Awards.

About AABB

AABB is an international, not-for-profit association representing individuals and institutions involved in the field of transfusion medicine and cellular therapies. The association is committed to improving health by developing and delivering standards, accreditation and educational programs that focus on optimizing patient and donor care and safety. AABB membership consists of nearly 2,000 institutions and 8,000 individuals, including physicians, nurses, scientists, researchers, administrators, medical technologists and other health care providers. Members are located in more than 80 countries. For more information, please visit www.aabb.org.


Home  |  Site Map  | AABB © 2014. All rights reserved. |  Privacy Statement  |  Terms of Use