(0 items)
Small Medium Large | Print-Friendly Version of this Page  | Email this Page to a Friend
Skip Navigation Links
Press Releases
Hot Topics
White Papers
Contact Public Relations
AABB > Press Room > Press Releases

For Immediate Release
October 17, 2013 
Public Relations Department

 Graham Sher, MD, PhD, Elected President of AABB at 2013 Annual Meeting and CTTXPO in Denver 


Bethesda, Md. – Canadian Blood Services CEO Graham Sher, MD, PhD, was elected president of AABB (formerly the American Association of Blood Banks) for the 2013–2014 term, succeeding Susan L. Stramer, PhD. Sher assumed his new role at the Annual Meeting and CTTXPO in Denver, Colo., on Oct. 15.

Sher has been a member of AABB since 1996 and is a member of the National Blood Foundation Board of Trustees. Previously, Sher served as the vice president and secretary of the AABB Board of Directors, chaired the AABB Finance Committee, the AABB Human Resources Committee and the Education and Operations Council, and was a member of the AABB Bylaws Committee.

Since 2001, he has served as CEO of Canadian Blood Services, the organization responsible for managing Canada's national blood, plasma and stem cell programs in all provinces and territories across Canada, excluding Quebec. Sher has led Canadian Blood Services through an extensive, multiyear "transformation" journey, focusing on the organization's service delivery model across Canada and strengthening its key assets including its people, systems and culture. Under his leadership, Canadian Blood Services has assumed responsibility for coordinating a national strategy and system for organ and tissue donation and transplantation for Canada, as well as recently launched the national public umbilical cord blood bank.

A hematologist by training, Sher received his medical and doctoral degrees from the University of Witwatersrand in Johannesburg, South Africa, and his specialty certification from the University of Toronto. He is a recognized expert in transfusion medicine and science, and is a widely sought speaker, both nationally and internationally.

AABB also elected Lynne Uhl, MD, as president-elect, Donna M. Regan, MT(ASCP)SBB, as vice president, and Zbigniew M. Szczepiorkowski, MD, PhD, FCAP, as secretary of the AABB Board of Directors.

To view the complete list of the AABB Board of Directors, visit: http://www.aabb.org/about/governance/Pages/default.aspx.

About AABB

AABB is an international, not-for-profit association representing individuals and institutions involved in the field of transfusion medicine and cellular therapies. The association is committed to improving health by developing and delivering standards, accreditation and educational programs that focus on optimizing patient and donor care and safety. AABB membership consists of nearly 2,000 institutions and 8,000 individuals, including physicians, nurses, scientists, researchers, administrators, medical technologists and other health care providers. Members are located in more than 80 countries. For more information, visit www.aabb.org.


Home  |  Site Map  | AABB © 2014. All rights reserved. |  Privacy Statement  |  Terms of Use