

Donor Hemovigilance Working Group

CHAIR: Samantha Ngamsuntikul, MD

PURPOSE: The purpose of the AABB Donor Hemovigilance Working Group (reporting to the AABB Hemovigilance

Committee) is to promote AABB's donor hemovigilance activities nationally and internationally, promote adoption of harmonized donor adverse reaction definitions and reaction severity grading tool, promote donor safety initiatives through data collection and analysis, and promote donor adverse reaction mitigation and intervention strategies (in conjunction with the Donor Health and Safety Committee) through

educational offerings and measurement of outcomes.

CHARGES: 1. Promote and evaluate adoption of harmonized international definitions of donor reactions.

- 2. Promote the adoption of the donor adverse event grading tool developed by the donor severity grading subgroup.
- 3. Promote the adoption of harmonized donor adverse reaction definitions and severity grading into routine use by blood collectors and into BECS software used by blood collectors.
- 4. Support donor hemovigilance activities through educational offerings to promote donor safety and reaction mitigation strategies (in conjunction with the Donor Health and Safety Committee).
- 5. Formulate interventions to enhance donor safety and the donor experience and share with the Donor Health and Safety Committee as well as with the community as a whole.
- 6. Promote donor safety initiatives through data collection and analysis on donors, donations, donor reactions and evaluation of interventions.
- 7. Promote use of a common adverse reaction reporting form for blood collectors to be notified of transfusion outcomes, which may be related to product quality.

Current Personnel as of April 30, 2025

| Name | Roles |
|----------------------------------|-------|
| Chair | |
| Samantha Ngamsuntikul, MD | |
| Junior Committee Member | |
| Cindy Tay, MD | |
| Neesha Siriwardane | |
| Member | |
| Thomas Gniadek, MD,PHD | |
| Angelica Vivero | |
| Dr. Opal Reddy, CABP ,MD | |
| Dr. Camille Van Buskirk, MD | |
| Dr. Debra Smith, MD,PHD | |
| Matthew Hiskey, MD | |
| Dr. Amita Radhakrishnan Nair, MD | |
| Kirsten Alcorn, MD | |
| Courtney Hopkins, DO | |
| Dr Salima Shaikh | |



| Name | Roles | |
|-------------------|-----------|--|
| Dr Tho Pham | | |
| Representative | | |
| Mary Townsend, MD | ISBT Rep. | |

Time Commitment: To learn about the time commitments for this working group, please contact the staff liaison listed in the

roster above.