

Awards Committee

CHAIR:

PURPOSE: To annually recommend a slate of recipients for all AABB awards to the AABB Board for approval that recognizes outstanding individuals, organizations, cohorts, etc. in the field of blood and biotherapies and to continually evaluate and improve upon AABB's awards program to ensure its proper functioning and alignment with AABB's values of diversity, equity, inclusion, and access.

CHARGES: Long-term Committee Charges (to be performed on the Annual Basis): 1. Serve as the overseeing body for all awards-related AABB activities and provide recommendations to AABB Board of Directors.

2. As part of the annual awards selection process, collaborate with AABB community and other awards selection committees (if kept) to generate a sufficient, diverse and inclusive slate of awards recipients. Evaluate the final slate of all awards nominees before it is sent to the AABB Board for approval to ensure that the list is representative of AABB's talented and diverse membership and recognizes advancements in blood and biotherapies.

Regularly review the standard scoring rubric for use to evaluate all awards candidates and ensure that the existing evaluation metrics continue to remain relevant to the field and to the AABB awards program.
On an as-needed basis, identify and introduce new awards categories that are reflective of the advancing field and growing AABB community at all professional levels.

Current Personnel as of July 01, 2025

Name	Roles
Co-Chair	
Sandra Nance, MS,MT(ASCP)SBB	
Federico Rodriguez, MLS(ASCP)SBB	
Junior Committee Member	
Jun Liu	
Member	
Dr. Caroline Raasch Alquist, FCAP, MD, PHD	
Aasawari Bapat, CABP(H),MD,PHD	
Terrie Foster	
Brenda Grossman, MD, MPH	
Dr. Jaleah Hawkins, MD	
Dr. Anneta Razatos	
Harpreet Sandhu	
Dr. Thomas Spitzer, MD	
Audra L. Taylor, MS,SBB(ASCP)	
Reggie Thomasson, MD,MS	
Dr Karina Yazdanbakhsh	
Celina Montemayor	
Yvette Miller	
Staff Liaison	
Mr Arnold McKinnon	



Time Commitment: To learn about the time of

To learn about the time commitments for this committee, please contact the staff liaison listed in the roster above.