

Donor History Task Force

CHAIR: Pete Lux

PURPOSE: To ensure that the AABB Donor History Questionnaire(s) and Related Materials remain consistent with

FDA requirements and recommendations and AABB Standards.

CHARGES: 1. Continue to work with FDA to identify and incorporate new FDA regulations and recommendations in

the questionnaire(s) and all accompanying materials, as appropriate.

2. Periodically obtain and review new research and feedback from users of current documents for the purpose of evaluating the materials (Donor History Questionnaire, User Brochure, Flowcharts, Medication List and Donor Educational Materials) for ease of use and increasing whenever possible the effectiveness of the materials. Evaluate opportunities for use of focus group and small surveys to engage members and update the DHTF.

3. Identify solutions for challenges facing members to include: Spanish translation for US donor centers (not intended for global distribution), effective strategies to achieve compliance with new recommendations and minimize the burden of frequent version updates.

Current Personnel as of August 22, 2025

Chair Pete Lux CHIEF_MEDICAL_OFFICER Claudia Cohn, MD, PHD Consultant Midna R Torres, BS,MLS(ASCP) Brian Bautista Geoffrey Belanger, MPH ————————————————————————————————————	Name	Roles
CHIEF_MEDICAL_OFFICER Claudia Cohn, MD, PHD Consultant Midna R Torres, BS,MLS(ASCP) Brian Bautista Geoffrey Belanger, MPH Mary Townsend, MD Junior Committee Member Nancy El Beayni, MD Emily Anderson Member Kristen Ruby, DO,MPH Jean Reece Tahirah Jones Kyle Annen Josie K. Pippert, BS,MT(ASCP) Jacquelyn Choate Kathleen Smart, MBA,MSN Representative Yvette Miller ARC Rep.	Chair	
Claudia Cohn, MD, PHD Consultant Midna R Torres, BS,MLS(ASCP) Brian Bautista Geoffrey Belanger, MPH Mary Townsend, MD Junior Committee Member Nancy El Beayni, MD Emily Anderson Member Kristen Ruby, DO,MPH Jean Reece Tahirah Jones Kyle Annen Josie K. Pippert, BS,MT(ASCP) Jacquelyn Choate Kathleen Smart, MBA,MSN Representative Yvette Miller ARC Rep.	Pete Lux	
ConsultantMidna R Torres, BS,MLS(ASCP)Image: Consultant of the policy of	CHIEF_MEDICAL_OFFICER	
Midna R Torres, BS,MLS(ASCP) Brian Bautista Geoffrey Belanger, MPH Mary Townsend, MD Junior Committee Member Nancy El Beayni, MD Emily Anderson Member Kristen Ruby, DO,MPH Jean Recce Tahirah Jones Kyle Annen Josie K. Pippert, BS,MT(ASCP) Jacquelyn Choate Kathleen Smart, MBA,MSN Representative Yvette Miller ARC Rep.	Claudia Cohn, MD, PHD	
Brian Bautista Geoffrey Belanger, MPH Mary Townsend, MD Junior Committee Member Nancy El Beayni, MD Emily Anderson Member Kristen Ruby, DO,MPH Jean Reece Tahirah Jones Kyle Annen Josie K. Pippert, BS,MT(ASCP) Jacquelyn Choate Kathleen Smart, MBA,MSN Representative Yvette Miller ARC Rep.	Consultant	
Geoffrey Belanger, MPH Mary Townsend, MD Junior Committee Member Nancy El Beayni, MD Emily Anderson Member Kristen Ruby, DO,MPH Jean Reece Tahirah Jones Kyle Annen Josie K. Pippert, BS,MT(ASCP) Jacquelyn Choate Kathleen Smart, MBA,MSN Representative Yvette Miller ARC Rep.	Midna R Torres, BS,MLS(ASCP)	
Mary Townsend, MD Junior Committee Member Nancy El Beayni, MD Emily Anderson Member Kristen Ruby, DO,MPH Jean Reece Tahirah Jones Kyle Annen Josie K. Pippert, BS,MT(ASCP) Jacquelyn Choate Kathleen Smart, MBA,MSN Representative Yvette Miller ARC Rep.	Brian Bautista	
Nancy El Beayni, MD Emily Anderson Member Kristen Ruby, DO,MPH Jean Reece Tahirah Jones Kyle Annen Josie K. Pippert, BS,MT(ASCP) Jacquelyn Choate Kathleen Smart, MBA,MSN Representative Yvette Miller ARC Rep.	Geoffrey Belanger, MPH	
Nancy El Beayni, MD Emily Anderson Member Kristen Ruby, DO,MPH Jean Reece Tahirah Jones Kyle Annen Josie K. Pippert, BS,MT(ASCP) Jacquelyn Choate Kathleen Smart, MBA,MSN Representative Yvette Miller ARC Rep.	Mary Townsend, MD	
Emily Anderson Member Kristen Ruby, DO,MPH Jean Reece Tahirah Jones Kyle Annen Josie K. Pippert, BS,MT(ASCP) Jacquelyn Choate Kathleen Smart, MBA,MSN Representative Yvette Miller ARC Rep.	Junior Committee Member	
Member Kristen Ruby, DO,MPH Jean Reece Tahirah Jones Kyle Annen Josie K. Pippert, BS,MT(ASCP) Jacquelyn Choate Kathleen Smart, MBA,MSN Representative Yvette Miller ARC Rep.	Nancy El Beayni, MD	
Kristen Ruby, DO,MPH Jean Reece Tahirah Jones Kyle Annen Josie K. Pippert, BS,MT(ASCP) Jacquelyn Choate Kathleen Smart, MBA,MSN Representative Yvette Miller ARC Rep.	Emily Anderson	
Jean Reece Tahirah Jones Kyle Annen Josie K. Pippert, BS,MT(ASCP) Jacquelyn Choate Kathleen Smart, MBA,MSN Representative Yvette Miller ARC Rep.	Member	
Tahirah Jones Kyle Annen Josie K. Pippert, BS,MT(ASCP) Jacquelyn Choate Kathleen Smart, MBA,MSN Representative Yvette Miller ARC Rep.	Kristen Ruby, DO,MPH	
Kyle Annen Josie K. Pippert, BS,MT(ASCP) Jacquelyn Choate Kathleen Smart, MBA,MSN Representative Yvette Miller ARC Rep.	Jean Reece	
Josie K. Pippert, BS,MT(ASCP) Jacquelyn Choate Kathleen Smart, MBA,MSN Representative Yvette Miller ARC Rep.	Tahirah Jones	
Jacquelyn Choate Kathleen Smart, MBA,MSN Representative Yvette Miller ARC Rep.	Kyle Annen	
Kathleen Smart, MBA,MSN Representative Yvette Miller ARC Rep.	Josie K. Pippert, BS,MT(ASCP)	
Representative Yvette Miller ARC Rep.	Jacquelyn Choate	
Yvette Miller ARC Rep.	Kathleen Smart, MBA,MSN	
•	Representative	
Pete Lux ABC Rep.	Yvette Miller	ARC Rep.
	Pete Lux	ABC Rep.



Name	Roles
Sheila O'Brien, PHD	CBS Rep.
Camilla Scott Smith, BB(ASCP),BS,CQA(ASQ),SBB	FDA (OBRR) Rep.
Todd Straus	ABC Rep.
Becky Pederson	DoD/ASBP Rep.
Michelle Fransen, MPH	PPTA Rep.
Ian Kracalik, MPH,PHD	CDC Rep.
Baia Lasky	ARC Rep.
Racquel East	FDA (OBRR) rep.

Staff Liaison

Karen Palmer, CQA(ASQ),MT(ASCP)

Time Commitment:

To learn about the time commitments for this task force, please contact the staff liaison listed in the roster above.