

## **Biotherapies Leadership Committee**

CHAIR: Dr. David McKenna, CABP(H),MD

PURPOSE: To foster AABB's leadership in biotherapies quality and safety by leveraging the organization's strength in

standards setting and regulatory and policy advocacy. To advise AABB leadership and membership on the clinical, technical, and quality/regulatory aspects of the field of biotherapies (e.g., cell/gene therapy and

regenerative medicine).

**CHARGES:** 1. Provide recommendations for relevant guidelines based on emerging evidence, regulatory changes, and industry shifts for Board consideration.

2. Identify opportunities and risks applicable to the biotherapies field and report this information to the board annually.

- 3. Establish a structured system for annual review of critical advancements in biotherapies and develop an annual report summarizing key developments, prioritizing those most relevant for Board attention, and submit for a pre-determined Board meeting. With Board approval, consider submission of a manuscript summarizing these findings to Transfusion for publication.
- 4. Work in collaboration with the Cellular Therapy Section Coordinating Committee (CTSCC) to identify priority topics for technical guidance documents, clinical guidelines, education programs, and other relevant activities.
- 5. Evaluate the impact of implementing new technologies and approaches in biotherapies, identifying implementation challenges, quality considerations, and opportunities to optimize patient and donor safety and outcomes.
- 6. Address priority issues identified by the biotherapy's community and/or the AABB Board of Directors.

## **Current Personnel as of August 22, 2025**

Name	Roles
Chair	
Dr. David McKenna, CABP(H),MD	
Liaison	
Suzanne Thibodeaux, CABP(H),MD,PHD	BoD Liaison
Dr Donald Siegel	BoD Liaison
Dr Ronit Slotky, CABP	CTSCC Liaison
Member	
Scott Koepsell, MD,PHD	
Dr. Eapen Jacob	
Dr David Stroncek	
Thane Kubik, CABP	
Dr. Theodros Mamo, CABP ,MD,PHD	
J. Wade Atkins, BS,CABP(H),CQA(ASQ),MS,MT(ASCP)SBB	
Dr. Yongping Wang, CABP(H),MD,PHD	
Dr Beth Shaz, MD	
Diane Kadidlo	
Yvette Tanhehco, CABP ,MD,MS,PHD	
Staff Liaison	
Claudia Cohn, MD, PHD	



**Time Commitment:** 

To learn about the time commitments for this committee, please contact the staff liaison listed in the roster above