For Immediate Release

August 07, 2018

Media Contact

AABB Communications
Magda Yang

AABB Announces 2018 Memorial Award Recipients

2018 National Blood Foundation Hall of Fame Inductees and RISE Award-winning Research also Recognized

Bethesda, Md. – AABB is pleased to announce the recipients of the 2018 Memorial Awards and Lectureships. Award recipients will be honored for their significant contributions to the advancement of transfusion medicine, cellular therapies and patient blood management during the 2018 AABB Annual Meeting, to be held Oct. 13-16 in Boston, Mass.

“The AABB Memorial Awards honor the women and men who have shaped our field with their groundbreaking research. Standing on the shoulders of giants, this year’s AABB Memorial Award recipients have been building on that legacy and leading the way by fulfilling policy and practice-changing research and activities in transfusion medicine, cellular therapies and patient blood management,” said AABB President Mary Beth Bassett, BS, MT(ASCP). “As AABB President, I am proud to have the opportunity to celebrate their impressive careers and notable accomplishments.”

The list of 2018 AABB award and scholarship recipients is below. More information about the work of this year’s award recipients is available online.

Memorial Award Recipients:

  • Dale A. Smith Memorial Award – Laurence M. Corash, MD, Senior Vice President, Cerus Corporation; Chief Scientific Officer and Adjunct Professor of Laboratory Medicine, University of California School of Medicine San Francisco
  • Emily Cooley Memorial Award and Lectureship –  Karen E. King, MD (posthumous award)
  • Hemphill-Jordan Leadership Award – Eva D. Quinley, MS, MT(ASCP)SBB, CQA(ASQ), Regional Director, LifeSource/ITxM, a division of Blood Systems, Inc.
  • Karl Landsteiner Memorial Award and Lectureship – David A. Williams, MD, Senior Vice President and Chief Scientific Officer, Boston Children’s Hospital
  • National Blood Foundation Award for Innovative Research – Sean R. Stowell, MD, PhD, Assistant Professor, Pathology & Laboratory Medicine, Emory University School of Medicine
  • Sally Frank Memorial Award and Lectureship – Joann M. Moulds, PhD, MT(ASCP)SBB
  • Tibor Greenwalt Memorial Award and Lectureship – Sherrill J. Slichter, MD, Director, Platelet Transfusion Research, Bloodworks Northwest, Professor of Medicine, University of Washington School of Medicine

National Blood Foundation Hall of Fame – 2018 Inductees:

  • Jeffrey L. Carson, MD, Provost, Rutgers Biomedical Health Science, New Brunswick; Distinguished Professor of Medicine, Richard C. Reynolds, M.D., Chair, General Internal Medicine, Rutgers Robert Wood Johnson Medical School
  • Stella T. Chou, MD, Associate Professor, Pediatrics, Perelman School of Medicine at the University of Pennsylvania
  • Diane Krause, MD, PhD, Professor, Departments of Laboratory Medicine, Cell Biology and Pathology, Yale University School of Medicine; Associate Director, Yale Stem Cell Center, Medical Director, Clinical Cell Processing Laboratory

RISE Award:

  • Article: “Safety of the use of group A plasma in trauma: the STAT study”
    Authors: Mark Yazer, MD, and Nancy M. Dunbar, MD

About AABB

AABB is an international, not-for-profit association representing individuals and institutions involved in the fields of transfusion medicine and biotherapies. The association is committed to improving health through the development and delivery of standards, accreditation and educational programs that focus on optimizing patient and donor care and safety. AABB membership includes physicians, nurses, scientists, researchers, administrators, medical technologists and other health care providers. AABB members are located in more than 80 countries and AABB accredits institutions in more than 50 countries.