Harvey J. Alter Wins Nobel Prize in Medicine for Discovery of HCV

October 16, 2020

Harvey J. Alter, MD, senior scholar at the NIH Clinical Center’s Department of Transfusion Medicine and a longtime AABB member, recently won the 2020 Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine for his contributions to the discovery of the hepatitis C virus (HCV). He shares the award with Charles M. Rice, PhD, and Michael Houghton, PhD.

Alter is a previous member of AABB’s Transfusion Transmitted Diseases Committee. During his distinguished career, he received several AABB Memorial Awards, including the 1987 Emily Cooley Memorial Award and Lectureship, the 1992 Karl Landsteiner Memorial Award and Lectureship, and the 2011 Tibor Greenwalt Memorial Award and Lectureship. AABB congratulates Alter on this tremendous honor and will cover Alter's award more extensively in the coming weeks.