AABB Congratulates 2021 AABB Award Recipients

September 20, 2021

AABB is pleased to announce the recipients of its 2021 Awards, including this year’s Memorial Awards and Lectureships. These prestigious awards are bestowed annually to honor members of the blood and biotherapies community who have made significant contributions to the field.

“The AABB Awards have been bestowed for decades as a way to recognize and pay tribute to members of the blood and biotherapies community whose work will have a lasting impact on the field,” said Dave Green, AABB President. “The deserving recipients of AABB’s 2021 Awards have been trailblazers and leaders whose contributions will benefit the field for many years. We are proud to recognize their important achievements through the AABB Awards and applaud their work.”

The 2021 Recipients of AABB Awards include:

Karl Landsteiner Memorial Award and Lectureship
Anneke Brand, MD, PhD
Professor of Transfusion Medicine, Leiden University Medical Center

Tibor Greenwalt Memorial Award and Lectureship
Donald L. Siegel, PhD, MD
Professor of Pathology & Laboratory Medicine
Director, Division of Transfusion Medicine & Therapeutic Pathology
Director, Fellowship Program in Transfusion Medicine
Director, Clinical Cell & Vaccine Production Facility
Center for Advanced Cellular Therapies
Perelman School of Medicine University of Pennsylvania

Hemphill-Jordan Leadership Award

Dana Devine, PhD 
Chief Scientist, Canadian Blood Services
Professor of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine, University of British Columbia

Sally Frank Memorial Award and Lectureship
Connie M. Westhoff, SBB, PhD
Executive Scientific Director, New York Blood Center

John Elliott Memorial Award

Susan T. Johnson, MSTM, MT(ASCP)SBBCM
Director of Clinical Education, Versiti 
Director of the Transfusion Medicine Program, Marquette University 
Associate Director, Indian Immunohematology Initiative

Emily Cooley Memorial Award and Lectureship

Heather Hume, MD, FRCPC
Medical Director, Transfusion Medicine, Centre Hospitalier Universitaire St. Justine

Dale A. Smith Memorial Award
Michael Pandelakis
Founder & CEO, BloodHub

Andrew Pandelakis
Founder & COO, BloodHub

NBF Award for Innovative Research
David Gibb, MD, PhD
Assistant Professor, Division of Transfusion Medicine, Cedars-Sinai Medical Center
RISE Award
2021 Recipient:
Article: “Hypoxic storage of red blood cells improves metabolism and post‐transfusion recovery”

Angelo DʼAlessandro, PhD
Tatsuro Yoshida, PhD
Shawnagay Nestheide
Travis Nemkov, PhD
Sarah Stocker
Davide Stefanoni, BS
Fatima Mohmoud
Neeta Rugg, MS
Andrew Dunham, PhD
Jose A. Cancelas, MD, PhD 

AABB is planning a virtual ceremony to honor the recipients of this year’s Awards on November 16. All members of the AABB community are invited to share in the celebration. More details will be available soon.

Additional information about this year’s AABB Award winners is available on the AABB website.