Dana Devine, PhD

Canadian Blood Services

Dana Devine, PhD, is the chief scientist at Canadian Blood Services. She is also a professor of pathology and laboratory medicine at the University of British Columbia and a founding member of the University’s Centre for Blood Research. She has been a member of AABB since 1998.

In addition to blood system management, Devine’s area of expertise is transfusion research. She has a longstanding research career in blood products, transfusion medicine, platelet biology, complement biochemistry and coagulation, and has published more than 200 peer-reviewed publications. As a member of the BEST Collaborative, Devine is the co-lead of the conventional components section. Currently her research is focused on improving the quality of blood products in storage by understanding the basis of platelet and red cell storage lesions. This work is funded by the Burroughs Wellcome Fund, Canadian Blood Services, the Canadian Institutes of Health Research (CIHR) and the National Science and Engineering Research Council (NSERC).

She is the former Editor-in-Chief of the blood transfusion journal Vox Sanguinis. In service to the transfusion community, Devine is a member of numerous medical/scientific advisory committees and boards including the American Red Cross, Blood Systems Research Institute, Bloodworks Northwest, the New York Blood Center and the Australian Red Cross Blood Service. She has also served on the board of directors of the Vancouver Coastal Health Authority and the Heart and Stroke Foundation of British Columbia & the Yukon.

Devine is a fellow of the Canadian Academy of Health Sciences as well as recipient of the Queen’s Golden Jubilee Award and the 2015 Ortho Award of the Canadian Society for Transfusion Medicine.

After receiving her undergraduate degree in biology and a master’s degree in marine biology, Devine completed her research training at Duke University, where she obtained the PhD degree in Immunology.

Specialty Areas: Blood System Management; Transfusion Research

Board Committees: Education and Operations (EO) Council (Chair); Audit & Ethics Committee (Chair); Governance Committee, and; Human Resources Committee