Structure and Governance of AABB

Legal Status of the AABB

The AABB was established in 1947 and is incorporated in the State of Illinois as a not-for-profit corporation. It has been designated by the IRS as a 501(c)(3) corporation; i.e., organized to further scientific and educational activities. As such, dues and contributions are tax-deductible.

Governing Documents

Three documents govern the conduct of Association affairs: The Articles of Incorporation, the Bylaws and the Standard Code of Parliamentary Procedure, in that order. The Board of Directors is empowered by the Bylaws to formulate policy for the Association.

The Board of Directors is empowered by the Bylaws to formulate policy for the Association. Board policy states that the AABB Standards, followed by the AABB Association Bulletins, are the authoritative policy statements of the AABB. Statements in other AABB publications, including the Technical Manual, are considered guidelines only. (October 1993)

The Board of Directors

In addition to formulating policy for the Association, the Board of Directors is empowered by the Bylaws, subject to the Articles of Incorporation and the Bylaws, to receive, hold and dispose of property; to pass on questions of membership; to call meetings of the Association; to fix membership fees; to maintain liaison with responsible ethical organizations; to establish committees and delegate powers and duties to them; and to administer and conduct other activities of the Association not expressly reserved to the membership.

There are currently nineteen members of the Board of Directors – five officers, ten at-large directors, two section representatives, one appointed director, and the CEO as an ex-officio director. The structure and qualifications for services on the Board are addressed in Bylaws Chapter VI, Section 2. 

The Executive Committee

The officers of the Board form the Executive Committee, whose duty is to conduct all necessary business of the Association between sessions of the Board.

Board Councils

The Board of Directors is organized into councils. Each council is chaired by a member of the Executive Committee and oversees the activities of a number of committees. Board Council Chairs are responsible for communicating with the chairs of their assigned committees and to the Board on the committees' behalf. Councils also carry out other responsibilities as assigned by the President.


Committees are appointed to carry out Board directives, oversee programs and serve as sources of information for the Board and membership.

AABB Representatives to External Organizations

AABB members are appointed by the Board to serve as representatives of the association where an official AABB presence is required. This includes service as AABB’s representative to another organization in an ongoing capacity.


The Bylaws provide for the establishment of sections of individual members. Two such sections, the Cellular Therapies and Transfusion Medicine Sections, have been formed. Each elects a coordinating committee and may establish subcommittees or work groups to carry out assigned charges. The chairs of the coordinating committee have seats on the Board of Directors.

Chief Executive Officer

The Chief Executive Officer (CEO) is appointed by the President with approval of the Board and sits on the Board as a non-voting member. The CEO is responsible for the management of the activities of the Association and implements the policies of the Association as determined by the Board.