Immunohematology Boot Camp: WAIHA (22EL-706)

Please note: AABB reserves the right to make updates to this program.

Live Program Date: Wednesday, February 9, 2022 - On-Demand Available

Program Number: 22EL-706

  • Educational Track: Technical/Clinical
  • Topic: Patient Transfusion
  • Intended Audience: Directors, Hospital Blood Banks, Hospitals, Immunohematology Reference Labs (IRL’s), Laboratory Staff, Managers/Supervisors, Medical Directors, Physicians, Residents/Fellows, Students (MD, MT, SBB), Technologists
  • Teaching Level: Basic, Intermediate
  • Director: Kerry O’Brien, MD, Medical Director of Blood Bank, Blood Bank/Transfusion Medicine Fellowship Program Director, Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center, Boston, MA
    Moderator: Samantha Clem, MS, MLS(ASCP)SBB, Immunohematology Reference Laboratory Manager, American Red Cross, Indiana-Ohio Region, Fort Wayne, IN

    • Susan T. Johnson, MSTM, MT(ASCP)SBBCM, Director of Clinical Education and the Specialist in Blood Banking (SBB) Program, Versiti, Director, Transfusion Medicine Program, Marquette University, Milwaukee, WI
  • Program Description

    The speaker will discuss initial serologic findings that laboratory scientists may face when patients present with warm autoimmune hemolytic anemia (WAIHA) and review subsequent testing necessary to ensure the best possible transfusion possible when required. Finally, the role of blood transfusion and current approaches for compatibility testing will be included.

    Learning Objectives

    After participating in this educational activity, participants should be able to:

    • Describe serologic findings that are consistent with warm autoimmune hemolytic anemia.
    • Discuss adsorption techniques using autologous and allogeneic RBCs for the detection of alloantibodies underlying warm autoantibodies.
    • Describe different approaches for compatibility testing in patients with warm autoantibody.
    • Explain the role of blood transfusion in patients with warm autoimmune hemolytic anemia.


    Please note: If you registered for the live eCast you do not need to register for the on-demand eCast (access to the on-demand eCast was included with the live eCast registration.

    Single Viewer Register
    Group Viewing Register

    Continuing Education Credit

    AABB designates both the live and on-demand version of this eCast each to be eligible for 1 continuing education credits/contact hours for California Lab Personnel, Florida Lab Personnel and General Participation credit. The final number of credit(s) and credit types awarded for this program (live or on-demand) was determined by the program duration. Please note this program is not eligible for continuing education credit for physicians or California Nurses. For more information on each credit type please visit our Continuing Education Credits webpage.

    Disclosures for the planners of this event can be found here. Disclosures for the program faculty are provided at the beginning of the program.

    Speaker Biography

    Susan T. Johnson, MSTM, MT(ASCP)SBBCMSue Johnson has taken an active role in the education of Medical Laboratory Science students for more than 20 years. Her experience includes roles as the Director and Adjunct Associate Professor at Marquette University Graduate School’s Transfusion Medicine Program, the Clinical Associate Professor at University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee, College of Health Science, and the Associate Director of Indian Immunohematology Initiative. Sue has also authored numerous publications in the field of Transfusion Medicine and Immunohematology and is an established lecturer on a national and international basis on the topic of Immunohematology. She is a member of the Invitational Conference of Investigative Immunohematologists (ICII). She has been an active member of AABB for more than 25 years. She served on the Board of Directors and as Chair of the organization’s Membership & Elections Committee and Immunohematology Reference Laboratory Accreditation Program Unit. Sue currently sits on the AABB Publications Committee.