Landsteiner-Alter Award and Lectureship

This award was initiated in 1954 as the Karl Landsteiner Memorial Award and Lectureship, honoring Karl Landsteiner, MD, whose lifetime research laid the foundation for modern blood transfusion therapy. It was renamed the Landsteiner-Alter Award in 2021 to also honor Harvey Alter, MD, longtime AABB member and leader in transfusion medicine, who received the 2020 Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine for his research leading to the identification of the Hepatitis C virus. The Landsteiner-Alter Award recognizes a scientist whose original research has resulted in an important contribution to the body of scientific knowledge.

The scientist who receives the award should have an international reputation in transfusion medicine or biotherapies.


To be eligible for this award, candidates:

  • Need not be a member of AABB.
  • Must have authored original research contributing to body of knowledge, international reputation in transfusion medicine or related field.


Recipient is selected by AABB's Board of Directors.

Please send all inquiries about this award to

2022 Recipients

Jeffrey L Carson, MD, MACPJeffrey L Carson, MD, MACP

Paul Hébert, MD, MA, MHSc, FRCPC, FCAHSPaul Hébert, MD, MA, MHSc, FRCPC, FCAHS

Nancy Heddle, MSc, FCSMLS(D)Nancy Heddle, MSc, FCSMLS(D)

Ian Roberts, MDIan Roberts, MD


The Landsteiner-Alter Award for 2022 recognizes four outstanding scientists: Jeffrey L. Carson, MD, MACP; Paul C. Hébert, MD, MA, MHSc, FRCPC, FCAHS; Nancy Heddle, MSc, FCSMLS(D); and Ian Roberts, MD, whose careers have advanced novel methodologies and execution of large-scale clinical trials of the efficacy, safety, and complications of transfusion therapies.

View All Recipients