Governance & Policies

AABB is governed by its Board of Directors composed of the president, president-elect, past president, vice president, secretary, treasurer, as well as elected at-large directors, appointed directors, and directors who serve ex-officio.

Consistent with its commitment to optimal standards of care for patients and donors, the Association closely adheres to operating principles and practices that promote ethics and transparency.

2023-2024 AABB Board of Directors

Aaron A. R. Tobian, MD, PhD


The Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine

Brian Gannon, BA, MBA

Past President

Gulf Coast Regional Blood Center​

Meghan Delaney, DO, MPH


Children’s National Hospital

Jose A. Cancelas, MD, PhD, CABP

Vice President

University of Cincinnati

Richard Schäfer, MD, FRSB


University of Freiburg

Pampee Young, MD, PhD

At-Large Director Position 1

American Red Cross

Delisa English, MBA

Treasurer and At-Large Director Position 2

The Blood Connection

Dawn Ward, MD, CABP

At-Large Director Position 3

UCLA Health, David Geffen School of Medicine

Magali Fontaine, MD, PhD, CABP

At-Large Director Position 4

University of Maryland School of Medicine


At-Large Director Position 6

U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs

Nancy Dunbar, MD

At-Large Director Position 7

Dartmouth-Hitchcock Medical Center

Celina Montemayor-Garcia, MD, PhD

At-Large Director Position 8

Canadian Blood Services

Sally A. Campbell-Lee, MD, CABP

At-Large Director Position 9

University of Illinois Hospital and Clinics

Suzanne Thibodeaux, MD, PhD, CABP(H)

At-Large Director Position 10

Washington University School of Medicine

Wen Lu, MD

Director (Transfusion Medicine Section Representative)

Mayo Clinic

Ronit Slotky, PhD, MSc

Director (Cellular Therapies Section Representative)

Hackensack University Medical Center

Raymond Goodrich, PhD

Appointed Director

Colorado State University

John Hagins

Chair, AABB Interorganizational Task Force on Domestic Disasters and Acts of Terrorism

The Community Blood Center

Debra BenAvram, FASAE, CAE

Ex-Officio Director