Dale A. Smith Memorial Award

This award, created in 2002 and funded by Fenwal, A Fresenius Kabi Company, honors Dale A. Smith, a long-time Baxter Healthcare executive who was responsible for establishing the Fenwal Division of Baxter. This award will be presented to an individual(s) or institution to recognize groundbreaking work performed in the application of technology to the practice of transfusion medicine or biotherapies.

The recipient(s) will receive an honorarium totaling $7,500. The Dale A. Smith Memorial Award is presented annually.


To be eligible for this award, candidates:

  • Need not be a member of AABB
  • Must demonstrate innovation and creativity in the application of technology for improving transfusion.


Recipient is selected by the National Blood Foundation (NBF) Scientific Grants Review Committee with formal approval by the NBF Board of Trustees.

Please send all inquiries about this award to awards@aabb.org.

2022 Recipient

Donald Branch, BS, MT(ASCP)SBB, PhDDonald Branch, BS, MT(ASCP)SBB, PhD


For his innovative research in developing ZZAP for warm auto adsorptions, which led to the development of the reagent W.A.R.M. This reagent is now used in major hospitals and laboratories worldwide to remove autoantibodies for investigating underlying alloantibodies, and has been instrumental in helping to promote the safety of blood transfusions.

View All Recipients