AABB Opens Annual Meeting Abstract Submission Period, Eliminates Submission Fee

February 07, 2024

The AABB Selection of Abstracts Committee invites members of the blood and biotherapies community to help shape the scientific content at the AABB Annual Meeting by submitting an abstract for the 2024 meeting. New this year, AABB has eliminated the abstract submission fee, previously priced at $25.

Abstract categories include various scientific and administrative categories in transfusion medicine and biotherapies. AABB invites both members and non-members to submit their research. Detailed guidelines for abstract preparation and submission are available online. The submission deadline is Monday, May 6.

Those whose abstracts are accepted are required to attend the 2024 AABB Annual Meeting, to be held Oct. 19-22 in Houston, Texas, where they will have the opportunity to network with, and present their work to, attendees from throughout the world. AABB will also publish all accepted abstracts in a digital supplement to Transfusion.

Abstract Awards

In recognition of excellence in research, the 2024 AABB Annual Meeting will feature a series of prestigious awards for exceptional abstracts.

AABB will recognize Top Poster Award winners in a designated area in the Exhibit Hall. Additionally, select presenting authors will be invited to participate in a curated poster tour: an interactive event where abstract authors give a five-minute presentation on their research, followed by a moderated discussion with the audience led by an expert in the field.

The Best Biotherapies Abstract will recognize one abstract representing the highest quality novel idea. The recipient will receive complimentary airfare, hotel and complete registration to attend the 2024 AABB Annual Meeting.

Additionally, the Outstanding Abstract Award for Trainees will recognize up to 10 trainees who submit an exceptional abstract based on peer review and determination of abstract quality and scientific merit. Recipients will receive a $500 award and be recognized for their achievement during the Plenary Oral Abstract Session. The committee will select awardees from the following five categories: undergraduate nursing or medical laboratory science student, specialist in blood banking (SBB) program student, medical or graduate student, medical resident, and fellow or post-doctoral scientist.

For those seeking further information or clarification, answers to frequently asked questions are available on the AABB website