Hemphill-Jordan Leadership Award

This award, renamed in 2005 after Bernice Hemphill, W. Quinn Jordan, and Joel Solomon, honors leaders from the transfusion medicine and biotherapies community. The award recognizes an individual who made significant contributions in the areas of administration, quality programs, law and/or government affairs. It may recognize one particular act or an accumulation of years of contributions. Acceptance of the award requires attendance at the Annual Meeting and the presentation of a lecture.

The recipient will receive a $5,000 honorarium. The Hemphill-Jordan Leadership Award is presented annually and the recipient is chosen one year in advance.


To be eligible for this award, candidates:

  • Need not be a member of AABB.
  • Must have demonstrated leadership qualities and a consistent willingness to lend his/her expertise to his/her peers.
  • Contributions in the areas of administration, quality programs, law and/or government affairs.


Recipient is selected by a joint committee composed of leaders from the Cellular Therapies Section Coordinating Committee and the Transfusion Medicine Section Coordinating Committee with formal approval by AABB's Board of Directors.

Please send all inquiries about this award to awards@aabb.org.

2022 Recipient

Ljiljana V Vasovic, MDLjiljana V Vasovic, MD


For her passionate commitment to the field of laboratory medicine and biotherapies, as well as her gracious approach with her colleagues. Dr. Vasovic has volunteered on AABB’s Quality, Regulatory and Management subcommittee, which has benefited from her extensive knowledge and guidance. Dr. Vasovic’s willingness to share her expertise with colleagues has been vital in helping to advance knowledge across the field.

View All Recipients